CIEE seeking host families in Mason for foreign exchange students

Virginia Doss, Regional Director for Council on International Educational Exchange (CIEE), recently contacted Mason Town Clerk Debra Morrison about foreign exchange students coming to Mason for the upcoming high school year. She provided a list of students and her contact information for families who are interesting in helping:

We are always looking for good host families and Local Coordinators to help make sure the students that come here have an enriching stay. …

I am writing today because we have a couple students coming to Mason for the 2015-2016 high school year and we need assistance in finding them good homes and families. … We accept all kinds of families – kids, no kids, empty nesters, single parents, and so on. The main requirement is kindness and a willingness to learn about a foreign culture. Families who welcome a student will not only gain a new member, but will also learn about the world, its many values, traditions, languages, food, and more.

Our students have the appropriate visa, medical insurance and pay for all of their own expenses, with the exception of food and utilities. Students are between the ages of 15-18. They are arriving in August and are on a 10 month program. A family may act as a welcome family and bring the student into your community for a part of their experience as well. …

FSL15019R1 – Boy. Diego Antonio is a 16 year old boy from SPAIN. Hello Host family! I am Diego Garcia, I am a very active and positive person. I am really excited to do this program because i think that knowing english is really important, for my future. One of my favourite things to do is to invent things so i think i would like to be an inventor or work with electronics as en engineer. I also really like sports, I have tried so many of them since i was a child. My favourite one is sailing but i really enjoy practising any type of excersise. I am very excited about living a year in US and, i think that sharing this experience with a family its the best to get to know the real american culture and way of life.. When in the program I would like to try and do as many things as posible so i go back home with a great and full experience. GPA: 3.60

HAN15010 – Boy. BEOPRYUN is a 15 year old boy from KOREA, SOUTH. Hello. My name is Beop-ryun. I like exercising, especially playing soccer and riding a bike. My specialty is skiing. I’m a student who is active and playful in school. I always take kindly to any strangers so I have many good friends. I often play outside with friends and make class atmosphere enjoyable with funny words. I’m satisfied with my school life, so I’m interested in a job ‘Teacher’. If I become a teacher, I will surely lead students to right way. Because I love exercising, I want to be a physical education teacher. DPOK. GPA: 2.90

DND15003 – Girl. Laura is a 17 year old girl from SLOVAKIA. Hello I am a sixteen year old, outgoing, funloving and adventure seeking girl from Slovakia. I love meeting new people and making new friends. As far as sport goes, I prefer winter sports and especially snowboarding, but I like sports in general. I love travelling so later on at the University I would like to study Tourism or something to do with Tourism and travelling. I love to try new food dishes and travelling. I don’t have any siblings and have always wanted a brother or sister or both! DPOK SPOK GCOK GPA: 3.20

For more information, contact Virginia Doss at or 207-553-7812. More information is also available online: